Skip to content

Members of the Committee

Mike Phelan

Michael Phelan, Chair

Peoria County Board

Mike Phelan was elected to the County Board in 1998. He currently serves as chairman of the Management Services Committee and vice-chair of the Finance and Legislative Committee. Mike also serves on the board's Executive and Public Safety, Law Enforcement, and Courts Administration standing committees.

In addition, Mike serves as a County Board representative on the following Ad-hoc/Advisory Committees: Minority Business Ad-Hoc Committee, Facilities Master Planning Ad-hoc Committee, Cooperative Extension Board, Public Aid Committee of Peoria County, and the Heartland Community Development Corp. Mike is also on the Tri-County Regional Planning Commission.

Ryan Spain

Ryan Spain, Vice Chair

Peoria City Council

A lifelong Peorian, Ryan Spain attended District 150 schools and is a Richwoods High School alumnus. He graduated summa cum laude from the University of Illinois at Urbana-Champaign with a double degree in political science and communications. Ryan also holds an MBA from Bradley University.

In April 2007, Ryan was elected to the City Council as the youngest at-large member in Peoria history. He is currently employed at OSF Healthcare. Ryan and his wife Ashley live in the Peoria neighborhood of Lynnhurst.  During his free time, Ryan plays the drums and has performed at jazz festivals in Europe.

Tim Riggenbach picture

Tim Riggenbach

Peoria City Council

Tim Riggenbach served on the Peoria County Board for over six years before he was elected to the Peoria City Council in 2009. With 25 years of practical, hands-on, business and finance experience, Riggenbach works as a Financial Advisor with Merrill Lynch Wealth Management. Previously, he was an Assistant Vice President and Small Business Lender with Associated Bank. His finance background, however, goes back to the trading floor of the Chicago Mercantile Exchange where he was the Short Term Interest Rate Analyst for Prudential Securities.

Riggenbach also serves on the City/County Landfill Committee and the Peoria Riverfront Museum Construction Committee. He is Secretary for the Tri-County River Valley Development Authority and just completed a five year stint on the Tri-County Regional Planning Commission where he had served terms as both Treasurer and Second Vice-Chair.

Riggenbach and his wife, Barbara, along with their five children, live in the heart of Peoria where they are active in the affairs of District 150 schools.

Andrew Rand picture

Andrew Rand

Peoria County Board

“Great opportunities exist for government to think, act, and achieve better results for our citizen taxpayers.  Metro Peoria is moving this ball down the field so that government can collaborate for improved and more efficient citizen services.”

Andrew Rand was elected to the County Board in 2008. Andrew currently serves on the board's Executive and Finance & Legislative Committees. He chairs the Public Safety, Law Enforcement, & Courts Administration Committee and serves as vice-chair of the Peoria Riverfront Museum and Intergovernmental Cooperation Committee, all standing committees of the County Board. In addition, Andrew chairs the Peoria Riverfront Museum Construction Committee and serves on the Rules of Order Committee.

In 2010, when animal control services were transitioned from the City of Peoria to Peoria County, Andrew was the board liaison and point person for the County as the new provider of animal control. He helped assess the needs and services available for animal control and protection and still plays a large role in the implementation of those services throughout the county.

While earning his Bachelor of Science degree from Clemson University, Andrew became a licensed paramedic for the State of South Carolina. He is currently the CEO of Peoria-based Advanced Medical Transport, the largest provider of ambulance services and critical care patient transportation in downstate Illinois.

Mary Ardapple picture

Mary Ardapple

Peoria County Board

“Purposeful collaboration between elected officials exhibits a determined resolve by which to lead our community toward a successful and more efficient future.”

Mary Ardapple was elected to the Peoria County Board in November 2010. In addition to serving on the Metro Peoria Committee and as Vice Chair of the County Board, Mary serves on the County’s Executive; Health, Environmental, and Welfare Issues; Management Services; Peoria Riverfront Museum and Intergovernmental Cooperation; and Finance and Legislative standing committees. She also serves on the Minority Business Ad-hoc Committee.

She has lived in Peoria County since 1982 and is well known for her passionate support and promotion of the community. Mary lends her talents in strengthening our community as a leader and volunteer. She has been involved with the Heart of Illinois Hospitality Association, Peoria Area Convention and Visitors Bureau, Peoria Area Chamber of Commerce, Central Illinois Community Foundation, District 150 Foundation, the Heartland Partnership, and the National Association of Women Business Owners. Mary has served on Peoria County's Zoning Board of Appeals, the Peoria Liquor Commission, and the Peoria Public Library Board of Trustees.

A foodservice professional and entrepreneur, Mary is an experienced small business owner who currently owns and operates Apple’s Bakery Northside Market and Apple’s Gluten Free Kitchen. Mary graduated from the University of Northern Colorado with a degree in Business Administration and Management. Mary and her husband Chris Dierker have a son Alex.

Eric Turner picture

Eric Turner

Peoria City Council

“After serving on the City Council for 18 years and hearing about the opportunities for working together, this is the first time I have seen significant progress and feel good as to the direction.”

Born and raised in Peoria, Eric Turner was elected to the City Council in 1995. During his tenure, he has been the deputy liquor commissioner and the council liaison to the Greater Peoria Mass Transit Board. He has served on the IHSA Steering Committee, ICC Scholarship Committee, Peoria Area Convention and Visitors Bureau Board of Directors, and the Notre Dame High School Board of Trustees.  He was co-chairman of the Mayor’s Taskforce on Crime, moderator for the Community Dialogue on Crime, and involved with the Multi-Enforcement Group Task Force.

Eric retired from Caterpillar, Inc. as the Regional Governmental Marketing Manager. He received his Bachelor of Arts Degree from the University of Illinois and his Master of Arts from DePaul University. A Vietnam veteran, Eric is very involved in the community, serving on many boards and belonging to many service organizations such as the American Legion Post #2, Peter H. Clark Elks Lodge, and the Henry Brown Masonic Lodge F & AM. Eric was inducted into the African American Hall of Fame Museum in 2001 and received the Charles Schlink Good Government Award the following year, among many other awards and recognitions over the years.